Call for Nominations for Espy Land Heritage Award

Nominations Due: Midnight, March 3, 2023

Each year, Maine Coast Heritage Trust presents the Espy Land Heritage Award to an individual, organization, agency or coalition for exemplary conservation efforts in Maine. The award recognizes those who make outstanding contributions to land conservation in Maine while inspiring others. The recipient of the award is recognized at the annual Maine Land Conservation Conference and is entitled to direct $5,000 to the non-profit organization of their choosing. This year’s Conference will take place on May 3rd at the Samoset in Rockport.

The Espy Land Heritage Award is named for long-time President, Jay Espy, and in 2008 it was endowed by Maine Coast Heritage Trust’s Board in his honor. The Board sought to celebrate Jay’s vision and leadership for land conservation and his spirit of collaboration. In his early days at MCHT, Jay was instrumental in helping new land trusts form and his commitment and passion for land conservation as a local process was unwavering during his 24 years at the Trust.

In 2022, Jerry Bley was given the award. Jerry has been involved in land conservation in Maine on multiple levels for more than 30 years, and he has played a leadership role in addressing community conservation needs, climate change resilience, protection of critical resources, and the expansion of outdoor recreational opportunities. Jerry was a truly deserving awardee. At Jerry’s request, the $5,000 prize was divided equally between Pierce Pond Watershed Trust, 7 Lakes Alliance, Forest Society of Maine, Francis Small Heritage Trust, and Kennebec Land Trust.

Today, MCHT is pleased to issue the call for nominations for the 2023 Espy Land Heritage Award. Recognize your favorite Maine conservationist by nominating them for the award this year!

View listing of past Espy Land Heritage Award Recipients.

View and fill out the online nomination form.

Request a printable nomination form.