Call for Nominations for Espy Land Heritage Award

Nominations Due: Midnight, February 29, 2024

Each year, Maine Coast Heritage Trust presents the Espy Land Heritage Award to an individual, organization, agency, or coalition for exemplary conservation efforts in Maine. The award recognizes those who make outstanding contributions to land conservation in Maine while inspiring others. The recipient of the award is recognized at the annual Maine Land Conservation Conference and is entitled to direct $5,000 to the nonprofit organization of their choosing. This year’s Conference will take place on April 13 at Mount Ararat Middle School in Topsham.

The Espy Land Heritage Award is named for long-time President, Jay Espy, and in 2008 it was endowed by Maine Coast Heritage Trust’s Board in his honor. The Board sought to celebrate Jay’s vision and leadership for land conservation and his spirit of collaboration. In his early days at MCHT, Jay was instrumental in helping new land trusts form and his commitment and passion for land conservation as a local process was unwavering during his 24 years at the Trust.

In 2023, Janet McMahon was given the award. During her decades-long career, Janet has worked as a scientist, an educator, and a steward for a wide range of organizations and causes, including The Nature Conservancy, Maine Audubon Society, Maine State Planning Office, and the Maine Critical Areas Program. She has led conservation planning across the state and consulted on countless ecological projects from the Allagash Wilderness Waterway to the Western Mountains of Maine to supporting the Maine Rivers Act that continues to have lasting influence on river conservation throughout Maine. At Janet’s request, the $5,000 prize was divided equally between the Wabanaki Self-Determination Fund and Midcoast Conservancy’s Clarry Hill Highlands Project.

Today, MCHT is pleased to issue the call for nominations for the 2024 Espy Land Heritage Award. Recognize your favorite Maine conservationist by nominating them for the award this year!

View listing of past Espy Land Heritage Award Recipients.

View and fill out the online nomination form.

Request a printable nomination form.